Breathe Deep and Re-Focus

me.jpgI’m going to keep today’s blog short and sweet. For one, I’ve got about…. 20 minutes before I have to leave to work on the mobile home renovation. Second, this post is just to kind of catch you up on where I’ve been for the past few months.

5 months ago, I lost my mom to a freak medical accident. I was away in Kansas City for a work trip when I got the call that something had gone wrong with her medical procedure. I was 12 hours away, no car, and alone, aside from my coworkers that I barely knew. My husband was able to get me on the next flight out of there and the wait at the terminal felt like eternity. My mom fought hard for a few days, but ultimately she passed July 10th. My world came crashing down in that very moment and everything that I thought I knew about life changed forever. She was my best friend and I still grapple with her loss every day. But, if there’s one thing I know, she would want me to pick myself up and keep going. It’s tempting to just let myself completely unravel into depression, but I just can’t do that. She keeps me going, even in death.

Because of what happened, I just dropped everything and allowed myself time to grieve. I needed it… And still do. Now, 5 months later, I’m beginning again. I want to pick back up on the blog and start doing things that I enjoy. It’s what my mom would want, and I have to honor her in that.

So, here I am, again, starting over with The Sterling Nest, and I’m kind of excited to share my thoughts on the blog. When I first started, not that long ago, really, I didn’t have much focus. I just wanted to cover anything and everything home-related from cleaning schedules/time management tips, to furniture making, to interior design. The thing is, as any blogger worth their salt will tell you, you really need to find your niche. It’s much easier to build a following that way and, really, easier to design your social/blogging strategy.

All that to say, I will be refocusing my blog on interior design. That’s my heart, and I can’t wait to dig deeper into that world with you. I’ll be covering things like interior design tips, trends, and even DIY home décor. Because who doesn’t love decorating on the cheap?

I hope you all will bear with me as I get my feet back under me, because I think I’ll have some great material coming your way. I’m looking so forward to it!

~XXO,

Brittany S.

Save

Leave a Reply

