Light Up the Night

on

In case you didn’t see my social media posts, I’ve been in New York City the past couple days, with my dad, to watch my brother graduate from vet school. I haven’t been to NYC since I was about 6 or 7 years old, so I didn’t really remember much about it. Seeing it through adult eyes, I was absolutely blown away!

IMG_6633

If you’ve never visited the Big Apple, it’s a completely different world. I’m used to big open spaces, and they cram everything into the tiniest spots possible. Crazy! It amazes me how people live in such tight quarters. I, personally, couldn’t do it, but to each his own.

We stayed with my aunt, so we got to have an authentic NYC experience. She helped us call a cab to take us to the graduation, told us about all the buildings as we drove around the city, and took us to the BEST bakery for breakfast. It was really fun to experience the city like a resident, instead of a tourist.

The first night we were there, my aunt ordered Chinese and took us up to eat on her building’s rooftop lounge. She lives in Brooklyn, so the view of Manhattan was phenomenal. Once I picked my jaw up off the floor and took in the beauty of the cityscape, I looked around at this rooftop lounge. Whoever decorated it has some great taste, but what really did it for me was the lighting.

IMG_6635

 

I LOVE outdoor lighting. It’s one of the simplest, and least expensive, ways to transform your outdoor space. Globe string lighting is my favorite for outdoor patios and fire pits, and you can get it for about $12-$13 per strand at Home Depot. Just spend about $24 for a couple strands and your patio will look like a completely different place. Talk about thrifty!

IMG_6636

 

I have every intention of doing this to our fire pit in the near future, so I’ll have an update coming for you in a few months. Do you have a favorite outdoor lighting solution? Comment below to share!

~ Brittany XOXO

Leave a Reply

